Skip to main content


Capital: Zagreb

Official EU language(s): Croatian

EU member country: since 1 July 2013

Currency: euro. Euro area member since 1 January 2023

Schengen: Schengen area member since 1 January 2023

Figures: Geographical size - population - gross domestic product (GDP) per capita in PPS

Political system

Croatia is a parliamentary republic in which the head of government - the prime minister - and the head of state - the president - represent the executive power and the state at home and abroad. The government structure is based on separation of legislative, executive and judicial powers. The Parliament holds legislative power and also controls the executive. Its members are elected for 4 years.

Location on the EU map

Trade and economy

The most important sectors of Croatia’s economy in 2020 were wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (20.1%), industry (19.2%) and public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (18.1%).

Intra-EU trade accounts for 67% of Croatia’s exports (Germany 13%, Italy 12% and Slovenia 10%), while outside the EU 9% go to Bosnia & Herzegovina and 5% to Serbia.

In terms of imports, 77% come from EU Member States (15% Germany, Italy 12% and Slovenia 11%), while outside the EU 5% come from China and 3% come from Bosnia & Herzegovina.

Croatia in the EU

European Parliament

There are 12 members of the European Parliament from Croatia. Find out who these MEPs are.

European Parliament office in Croatia

Council of the EU

In the Council of the EU, national ministers meet regularly to adopt EU laws and coordinate policies. Council meetings are regularly attended by representatives from the Croatian government, depending on the policy area being addressed.

Presidency of the Council of the EU

The Council of the EU doesn't have a permanent, single-person president (like e.g. the Commission or Parliament). Instead, its work is led by the country holding the Council presidency, which rotates every 6 months.

During these 6 months, ministers from that country's government chair and help determine the agenda of Council meetings in each policy area, and facilitate dialogue with the other EU institutions.

Dates of Croatian Presidencies:

Jan-Jun 2020

Presidency of the Council of the EU

Current presidency of the Council of the EU

European Commission

The Commissioner nominated by Croatia to the European Commission is Dubravka Šuica, Vice-President for Demography and Democracy.

The Commission is represented in each EU country by a local office, called a "representation".

Commission representation in Croatia

European Economic & Social Committee

Croatia has 9 representatives on the European Economic and Social Committee. This advisory body – representing employers, workers and other interest groups – is consulted on proposed laws, to get a better idea of the possible changes to work and social situations in member countries.

European Committee of the Regions

Croatia has 9 representatives on the European Committee of the Regions, the EU's assembly of regional and local representatives. This advisory body is consulted on proposed laws, to ensure these laws take account of the perspective from each region of the EU.

Permanent representation to the EU

Croatia also communicates with the EU institutions through its permanent representation in Brussels. As Croatia's "embassy to the EU", its main task is to ensure that the country's interests and policies are pursued as effectively as possible in the EU.

Budgets and Funding

How much does Croatia pay and receive?

How much each EU country pays into the EU budget is calculated fairly, according to means. The larger your country's economy, the more it pays – and vice versa.
The EU budget doesn't aim to redistribute wealth, but rather focuses on the needs of Europeans as a whole. 

Figures on the EU budget, revenue and spending:

EU-funded projects in Croatia 

Find out more about how Croatia benefits from EU funding.