Skip to main content

The 3 main institutions of the EU are each headed by a president.

European Parliament president – Roberta Metsola

European Council president – Charles Michel

European Commission president – Ursula von der Leyen

Presidency of the Council of the EU

The Council of the EU - where national ministers discuss EU legislation - doesn't have a permanent, single-person president. Its work is led by the country holding the Council presidency, which rotates every 6 months. For example, representatives from the presidency country chair its meetings.

More about the Council of the EU

Video Gallery